Utah Social Work Licensure
How to become a Social Worker in Utah...
Below are basic guidelines for those wishing to earn their social work licensure in Utah. Most procedures and requirements remain constant over the years; however, it is wise to contact the Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing at (801) 530-6628 to make sure you are on the right track.
Follow the steps to earn your Utah Social Work License:
Complete the educational requirements for your desired Utah social work licensure.
- Licensed social service worker (SSW), Licensed certified social worker (CSW), and Licensed clinical social worker (LCSW) licensure candidates all need a masters degree in social work from an accredited school.
Request information from schools offering social work degree programs.
Complete the necessary work experience associated with the desired licensure.
- A SSW will need 1 year, or 2000 hours, of supervised work experience.
- A Licensed certified social worker (CSW) candidate does not need any previously documented work experience.
- A LCSW applicant will need 2 years, or 4000 hours, of supervised work experience while holding a valid CSW license.
More information about hourly requirements and supervisor qualifications can be found in the "Social Worker Licensing Act Rules" link located on the following Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing webpage.
Now, you can submit a Utah social work licensure application to the Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing. You will need to include all supporting documents and application processing fees.
You may download the application here.
Once the Division has reviewed your application, you will be notified of your eligibility to take the appropriate level exam.
- SSW applicants will need to pass the Bachelor level exam.
- CSW applicants will need to pass the Master, Advanced or Clinical level exam.
- And LCSW candidates will need to pass the Clinical level exam.
Information about each of the exams can be found on the ASWB website.