Wyoming Social Work Licensure
How to become a Social Worker in Wyoming...
Below are basic guidelines for those wishing to earn their social work licensure in Wyoming. Most procedures and requirements remain constant over the years; however, it is wise to contact the Wyoming Mental Health Professions Licensing Board at (307) 777-3628 to make sure you are on the right track.
Follow the steps to earn your Wyoming Social Work License:
Complete the appropriate educational requirements for your desired Wyoming Social Work licensure.
- Certified social worker (CSW) licensure candidates need to have their bachelor's degree in social work from an accredited school.
- Licensed clinical social worker (LCSW) applicants will need at least a masters degree from an accredited school.
Request information from schools offering social work degree programs.
Complete the required work experience, if necessary.
- Certified social worker (CSW) licensure does not require any documented work experience.
- A LCSW licensure candidate will need 3000 hours of supervised clinical work experience, 100 hours need to be in direct supervision. More information about the hourly requirements and qualifying supervisors can be found on the following Wyoming legislature webpage.
Next, you can submit a Wyoming social work licensure application to the Wyoming Mental Health Professions Licensing Board. You will need to include all supporting documents and fees as well. Request an application from the Board using the contact information located on the following Professional Licensing Board's webpage.
Once approved by the Board, you will be notified of your eligibility to take the appropriate level exam. Information about all exam levels can be found here and will be provided to the applicant once approval is given.